Home / POLITICS / NPP PRIMARIES: Ahafo Regional Minister Retains Seat with Landslide Victory

NPP PRIMARIES: Ahafo Regional Minister Retains Seat with Landslide Victory


The Governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) planned and indicated earlier that their parliamentary primaries which were supposed to be held on the 25th April, 2020 at Constituencies where there is a sitting member of parliament for the party. The deadly Coronavirus Pandemic which has killed tens of thousands and infected millions globally became a hindrance to the slated date for the Primaries.


The National Executive Committee of the NPP rescheduled the date to 20th June, 2020 across the Country. They gave very strong directives to the various Constituencies to organise the Parliamentary Primaries within Electoral Areas in order to ensure proper social distancing at this era of the Carcinogenic pandemic. The wearing of the Nose mask was not left out as the commander In chief of the Ghana Armed Forces, H. E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, the president of the Republic of Ghana keeps on reminding Ghanaians on the importance of nose masks.


The Asunafo North Constituency in the Ahafo Region has been contested by Mr Paul Gyan, Farouk Nkrumah and the sitting member of parliament who doubles as the Ahafo Regional Minister, Hon. Evans Opoku Bobie.


The elections was held at twenty nine (29) Electoral Areas within the Constituency which consist of Goaso Manhyia Zongo, Abotanso, Mim Zongo Asukese, Mim Dome, Goaso Ahenboboano, Akrodie Kronko, Akrodie Asafo, Kasapin, Fawohoyeden, Dotom, Asumura, Wam, Bitire, Gyasi Krom’ etc with an additional one (1) different polling Centre at NPP Party Secretariat at Goaso, where the Constituency Executives, Council of Elders, MP and patrons casted their votes.


At the end of the poll, the Ahafo Regional Minister, Hon Evans Opoku Bobie (MP) won with 675 votes Paul Gyan 12 votes and Farouk Nkrumah 122 votes.


it is a crystal clear that the Ahafo Regional Minister won with a landslide victory, Hon. Evans Opoku Bobie.


This is the second time that the delegates of Asunafo North Constituency have given their mandate to Hon. Bobie after losing the 2011 Primaries. During  the 2015 NPP Parliamentary Primaries, Hon. Evans Opoku Bobie defeated the then sitting MP and former Director General for Ghana Sports Authority, Hon. Robert Sarfo Mensah, who was sacked by H. E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo due to Anas Aremeyaw Anas number 12 Expose’.


Hon. Evans Opoku Bobie defeated the NDC aspirant in the 2016 general elections with a historic margin of 8,100 and made his way to parliament for the first time in 2017.


Addressing the media after the primaries, Hon. Evans Opoku Bobie (MP) stated emphatically that the victory is not for him alone but it is a victory for all the three aspirants, NPP and the entire constituents. Therefore, the Almighty God deserves a big eulogy.


He urged all the aspirants and their supporters to focus on the 2020 December Elections so that the Constituency can win more votes for H. E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo to continue his second term as president of Ghana. He reminded the party faithfuls and proponents to remember to obey all the Covid 19 protocols. The 2020 Parliamentary Elections in the Asunafo North Constituency will be a contest between Hon. Evans Opoku Bobie (MP) of the NPP and Haruna Mohammed of the NDC.



Souce: Thepressradio.com/Francis Agyapong Nimpong


About admin

Check Also

The Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA) has stated that a debate must precede the 2024 elections, involving some of the political parties intending to contest.

Election 2024: We’ll soon announce a date for a presidential debate – IEA

The Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA) has stated that a debate must precede the 2024 …

Bawumia dance captivates thousands in Gushegu-Karaga District

Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, who is also the presidential candidate of the ruling New …