Home / POLITICS / Buaben Asamoa, Adwoa Sarfo win; Ahmed Arthur, Ben Abdalla, Collins Amankwah rejected

Buaben Asamoa, Adwoa Sarfo win; Ahmed Arthur, Ben Abdalla, Collins Amankwah rejected



Delegates of the New Patriotic Party have rejected some big names and incumbent Members of parliament in the party’s primary for some newbies to represent them in various constituencies in the country.

In the Greater Accra Region, Yaw Buaben Asamoa, who is the NPP Communications Director, has been retained for the Adentan constituency to attempt a second term in parliament in the 2020 general elections.

MP for Okaikwei South, Ahmed Arthur, who has held the constituency seat for two terms, was however rejected by the party. Delegates of the party have chosen Dakoa Newman to represent them in the December polls.

Incumbent MP for Effia in the Western Region, Joseph Cudjoe, has been retained.

Deputy Chief of Staff, Francis Asenso-Boakye, who challenged the MP for Bantama in the Ashanti Region, Daniel Okyem Boakye, has won the seat to represent the party in the December polls.

He polled 456 votes while the incumbent managed only 122 votes.

At the Offinso South constituency, MP for the area who is also the Chairman of the constitutional and legal Comittee of Parliament, Ben Abdallah Banda has lost to Dr. Yaw Isaac Opoku.

From the Tema East constituency, Deputy Transport Minister Titus Glover beat Ben Ashitey to retain the seat. He polled 522 votes while Ashitey had 233

Collins Owusu Amankwaah, MP for Manhyia North has lost to Akwasi Konadu who won with just five vote difference.

At Dome Kwabenya, MP for the area, Adwoa sarfo beat Mike Oquaye Jnr for the third time and now seeks a third term in parliament.

More soon

By 3news.com

About admin

Check Also

Ras Mubarak calls for ‘radical change’ in the minority NDC leadership in parliament

Former Member of Parliament for Kubungu Ras Mubarak is advocating for a change in the …

I accept but disagree with Supreme Court ruling – Mahama

The flagbearer of the National Democratic Congress in the 2020 elections, John Dramani Mahama, has …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *