Connect with us


17 African nations that participated in Biden’s Democracy Summit



Seventeen African countries were among over 100 nations invited to the first Democracy Summit organized by the Joe Biden administration.

The summit held virtually, took place on On December 9 – 10, 2021, as the Biden administration brought together leaders from government, civil society, and the private sector to discuss issues of common interest.

The State Department on its website noted that the summit was part of, “shared effort to set forth an affirmative agenda for democratic renewal and to tackle the greatest threats faced by democracies today through collective action.”

No North African country was invited with West and southern Africa accounting for twelve nations while the remaining four was shared three to one between East and Central Africa.

Most countries were represented by their democratically elected presidents.

The 17 African nations invited to the summit were:

1. Angola

2. Botswana

3. Cape Verde

4. (The) Democratic Republic of Congo

5. Ghana

6. Kenya

7. Liberia

8. Malawi

9. Mauritius

10. Namibia

11. Niger

12. Nigeria

13. Sao Tome and Principe

14. Senegal

15. Seychelles

16. South Africa

17. Zambia