Home / POLITICS / NPP primaries: List of MPs who retained their seats

NPP primaries: List of MPs who retained their seats


The parliamentary primaries of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) held on Saturday, June 20, 2020, was characterised by surprise losses for some incumbent Members of Parliament.

However, some sitting MPs remained unaverred by their determined challengers.

For instance, MP for Dome Kwabenya, Sarah Adwoa Safo, retained her seat after a close call from her contender, Mike Oquaye Jnr, who polled 488.

Adwoa Safo stumbled to victory with 496 votes, an eight-vote difference.

Others, however, cruised easily to victory, beating their contenders resoundingly.

George Andah beat his opponent with more than 200 votes, polling 438 against Joseph Aidoo who managed only 191 votes.

Below is a list of some of the MPs who retained their seats and their constituencies.

1. Philip Basoah – Kumawu

2. Kwasi Ameyaw Cheremeh – Sunyani East

3. Kwadwo Asante – Suhum

4. Adwoa Safo – Dome Kwabenya

5. Yaw Buaben Asamoah – Adenta

6. Tangoba Abayage – Navrongo Central

7. Titus Glover – Tema East

8. Dr Nana Ayew Afriyie – Effiduase-Asokore

9. Eugene Boakye Antwi – Subin

10. Amma Pomaah Boateng – Juaben

11. Asante Boateng – Asante Okyem South

12. Issah Fuseini – Okaikoi North

13. Evans Opoku Bobbie – Asunafo North Constituency

14. Martin Oti Gyarko – Techiman North

15. Cynthia Morrison – Agona West

16. K. T. Hammond – Adansi Asokwa

17. Anthony Karbo – Lawra

18. George Andah – Awutu Senya West

19. Gifty Twum Ampofo – Abuakwa North

20. Joseph Cudjoe – Efia

21. Ebenezer Kojo Kum – Ahanta West

22. Patrick Kwame Same – Amenfi East Constituency

23. Kobby Okyere Darko Mensah – Takoradi

24. Alexander Kojo Abban – Gomoa West

25. Barbara Asher-Ayisi – Cape Coast North

26. Andy Appiah Kubi – Asante Akim North

27. Asunafo North – Evans Opoku Bobbie

28. Yaw Afful – Jaman South

29. Carlos Ahenkorah Tema West Constituency


Source: www.ghanaweb.com

About admin

Check Also

The Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA) has stated that a debate must precede the 2024 elections, involving some of the political parties intending to contest.

Election 2024: We’ll soon announce a date for a presidential debate – IEA

The Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA) has stated that a debate must precede the 2024 …

Bawumia dance captivates thousands in Gushegu-Karaga District

Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, who is also the presidential candidate of the ruling New …