Home / EDUCATION / 3 members of UEW UTAG dissociate themselves from Association

3 members of UEW UTAG dissociate themselves from Association

Three members of the University of Education, Winneba’s branch of the University Teachers Association of Ghana (UTAG) have disassociated themselves from the Association.

They are Prof. Samuel Asiedu Addo, Dr Samuel Ofori Bekoe and Dr Frimpong Kaakyire Duku.

The group of three in a rejoinder stated that their decision is a result of the UEW branch of UTAG holding a vote to reject the decision taken by NEC the same day the Committee (NEC) of UTAG, at a press conference, announced the suspension of the industrial action embarked on by the Association since the beginning of the current academic year.

According to them, “whereas we acknowledge the right of members who voted to reject the decision of NEC, we are surprised by the haste in which the meeting was convened and the vote taken.”

They added that “we are equally surprised in the manner in which the decision to reject NEC’s decision to suspend the strike was communicated.”

The group urged its members “to show solidarity and respect for the NEC of UTAG, to keep the association united at all times.

“In doing this, we must also consider the pleas of parents, students and other stakeholders, while remaining resolute in our demands for the restoration of our conditions of service.”

About Elvis Anokye

Check Also

Colleges of education non-teaching staff call off indefinite strike

The Colleges of Education Non-Teaching Staff Association of Ghana (CENTSAG) has called off its indefinite …

Bedbugs disturbing us – Breman Asikuma SHS students

Students of the Breman Asikuma Senior High School in the Central Region have been compelled …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *